Taib receives Federal Territory award

HONOURED: Tuanku Mizan confers the Darjah Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah award, which carries the title
ai???Datuk Seri Utamaai??i??, on Taib at the investiture ceremony at Istana Negara. ai??i?? Penerangan Photo

KUALA LUMPUR: Former prime
minister Tun Dr Mahathir
Mohamad headed a list of 256
recipients of the 2008 Federal
Territory awards, decorations and
medals in conjunction with Federal
Territory Day yesterday at the IstanaAi??Negara here.
He was conferred the Seri Utama
Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) award
which carries the title ai???Datuk SeriAi??Utamaai??i??.
Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul
Taib Mahmud, who was once federal
territory minister, was conferred
the same award.
Six people were bestowed the Seri
Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) award
which carries the title ai???Datuk Seriai??i??,
20 the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah
(PMW) which carries the title
ai???Datukai??i??, 33 the Johan Mahkota
Wilayah (JMW), 61 the Kesatria
Mahkota Wilayah (KMW), 77 the
Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and
57 the Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota
Wilayah (PPW).
Speaking at the inaugural
presentation of the awards, Yang di-
Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal
Abidin said he was satisfied with the
progress achieved by the federal
territories, saying that it was in tandem
with social development by way of
cultural and sports activities.
His Majesty said he was happy
that the planning and
implementation of all development
gave emphasis to conservation of
the environment.
From the time that Kuala Lumpur
came under its own administration
after it was carved out of Selangor on
Feb 1 1974, the federal capital had
achieved progress on par with that
of other metropolitan cities around
the world, he said.
Tuanku Mizan said that over the
last 33 years as a federal territory,
Kuala Lumpur had achieved
development and progress in various
fields and was headed towards
realising its objective of becoming a
world-class metropolitan city.

Comments are closed.