SMK Tung Hua, SMK Rosli Dhoby emerge champs

KEEP IT UP: Hii (second left) presents the trophy to a representative from SMK Rosli Dhoby team.

SIBU: SMK Tung Hua Team A and SMK Rosli Dhoby Team A topped the overall boys and girls categories respectively for the recently concluded Sibu Division Inter-School Chinese Chess Competition.

For the boys category, the first runner-up was SMK Rosli Dhoby Team B, followed by SMK Tiong Hin Team B and SMK Deshon Team D. In the girls category, the team from SM Wong Nai Siong emerged first runner-up, followed by SMK St Elizabeth Team B and SMK Catholic High.

In the individual section, Kong Chee Yik (SMK Tung Hua Team A) was champion in the boys category, followed by Choo King Peng (SMK Rosli Dhoby Team B), Liong Wei Yang (SMK Deshon Team A) and Chua Soon King (SMK Tiong Hin Team B).

In the individual girls section, Wong Xi Qi (St Elizabeth Team A) was champion, followed by Ling Mei Chen (Rosli Dhoby Team A) and Yek Yang Wen (SM Wong Nai Siong).

Meanwhile, in the primary school category, SJK Tung Hua Team B came out tops in both the boys and girls sections. The first runner-up of the boys section was SJK Kiew Nang Team A, followed by SJK Rejang Park Team A and SJK Chung Hua Team A.

SJK Tung Hua Team C was the first runner-up for the girls section, followed by Kiew Nang Team B and Chung Sing Team A. A total of 114 students from 21 schools took part in the championship organised by the Lanang Road Chess Association.

The main sponsors of the event Datuk Hii Hua Seng and Kapitan Ting Tiew Chai presented the prizes. The winners will represent Sibu in the interdivision schools Chinese Chess Competition, slated to be held in Sarikei on Aug 21.

Comments are closed.