West Motor pocket RM3,000 for Sarikei Open win

SPLENDID SHOWING: Ahmat (fourth right) presents the champions trophy to the manager of West Motor.

SARIKEI: West Motor emerged champions in the Sarikei Open 2009 Mena��s Inter-Team badminton championship held from Nov 20-22.

They clinched their first win through Rizal and Zairul Hafiz, who beat T&B Sibua��s pair of Tian Ching Luk and Wong Kung Hao in straight sets.

Goh Sze Boon and Wong Fei Yin were, however, taken the full distance by T&B Sibua��s Bong Xuang Wei and Chong Ban Sing before sealing victory for West Motor.

The champions received RM3,000, a trophy and medals while the runnersup, RM500, a trophy and medals.

The joint thirds were Paragon Sibu and Bumiputera Miri who each received RM300 and a trophy.

A total of eight teams from throughout the state with some fielding players from Peninsular Malaysia participated in the competition, organised by Sarikei Division Bumiputera Badminton Association.

Association chairman Ahmat Adai gave away the prizes.

Comments are closed.